Feeling Froggy

I was the lucky recipient of some food poisoning fun this weekend. The plus side of being sick? I watched all my DVR shows (Jack Bauer is my hero) and I caught up on some knitting. The downside? Being forced to drink three mason jars of water.

Between watching Food Tech in awe (I learned how pickles are made, also Peking Duck but I’d rather not talk about the latter), I decided that I hated the Morning Surf scarf I was making. I don’t hate the pattern, I just hated it with the yarn I was using. I need to start it again when I have good fingerling or lace yarn. So, I did what any good knitter would do. I ripped it to pieces and started over again. Otherwise known in knitter-land as “frogging” (R.I.P Ice Froggy Frog*). I found a great pattern for a Chevron Scarf in the Last-Minute Knitted Gifts book that I have been renewing since October from my library. I love that book.

And I love this scarf pattern. In the book, they make it with a beautiful stripey yarn, but I’m really stuck on this color of yarn for my friend so I decided to use it anyway. Boy am I glad I did. The solid color really shows the ornate design that this pattern makes. It seems as though this will take a while but it is completely worth it. I love, love, love the scarf and I’m making it for a friend that I also love, love, love. So it really made my sick day much better.

I also caught up on reading. I have reading issues because I like to read at least three books at once. I blame it on the reading contests of my youth where the more books I read, the more Pizza Hut certificates I earned.

Anyway, this creates some split-identity reading. Right now, when I am in the living room I am reading The Time Traveler’s Wife (Google really has everything), but when I am upstairs I am reading the first of those True Blood books (I cannot believe I am admitting this). Today I just picked up The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, which I’m pretty excited about starting (you had me at “Cemetery of Forgotten Books,” Carlos). I spent yesterday pouring through The Time Traveler’s Wife and I have to admit that I am a really bad judge of books at first glance. I am one of those people who judge a book by its cover (then why I am reading Sookie books you ask? Leave it alone.) I must have not liked the book jacket for this time-traveling tale. I have no clue why, but I remember reading the back in B&N and grimacing. Por que? It is an absolutely lovely book and I cannot put it down. It is wonderfully written and the chronology of the plot is so wondrously consuming.

All in all, an ouchy day, but a very productive one.

Peace n ribits,

Pookah

(apparently I love parenthesis today)

*Ice Froggy Frog (aka. The LilyPad Gangsta) was the little frog I owned for about three months in 2004. He and his older brother, The Ayatollah of RocknRolla, met an untimely death (is any death timely?) which may or may not have been a result of a lack of understanding about chemicals in water. I’d rather not talk about this either.

One thought on “Feeling Froggy

  1. Pingback: Knit Lit | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

