Kindle Coverage

I finally went to the dark side. I, a paper purist, purchased a Kindle. The happy recipient of a work award that came with a large Amazon gift card and with birthday money from my parents, I splurged on what used to be my arch nemesis – the e-reader. And frankly, I love it. I named it Archibald, Archie for short. And so far Archie has given me the ability to check my lexicon via Oxford (did you know that ‘nibby’ is not a word?), provided amusement at Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains) and even a free word game (addicting insanity).

I am in love. I am so disappointed in myself.

image

To make myself feel better, I decided to make Archibald a lovely sweater. Because covering your soul-stealing techno-gadget in wool always helps sooth the spirit.

I am also trying to perfect my crochet skills so I decided to crochet a cover instead. This is a half-double crochet (crazy people come up with this stuff) with a 5.50 hook.  I decided to give mine a snazzy closure so I crocheted up to create a latch and sewed on a button from my favorite collection of found buttons. In the end, I am amazed at how fast crochet is. I completed this in two evenings, probably a total of five hours max. Maybe I will make these in a variety of colors so Archibald’s condescending stare doesn’t haunt me.

Have I told you that you can also look at magazines on the Kindle?! Wee!

hypocrite

Peace,

Pookah

Leave a Reply

