Life’s a Beach

I’ve lived in San Diego for six years  now and every time friends from back in Ohio hear I live here, they gush, “Oh you must just spend all of your time at the beach!” So not true. I think I don’t appreciate my proximity to the ocean hardly enough.

So, lately I’ve been trying to get to the beach near my place at least once a week, mostly those days in between running on the treadmill when I still want to get out there and jog but know my body will hate me. And I’ve come to realize something that I’ve always kinda known. I’m not really a beach girl. I like lakes.

Don’t get me wrong, I love walking  in the water at the beach. I love the sand. I love the sound of the waves and the boom when a wave hits. And the smells… I love the smell of the ocean. I love watching the paddle boarders and surfers take on a wave and how easy they make it look. I love watching little boys grab fistfuls of sand and run toward the water to return it. (Why do all little boys do this?)  But frolicking in the water? No thank you. When the water gets above my knees, I freak. I just know there is a jellyfish waiting to sting me. And the kelp? Sweet Jesus.

That said, I love it here. I could go every day. There is no better air to breathe on the earth. If I’ve had a crazy day it is instantly calming and puts a huge smile on my face.  So, for you…a picture of a little crane I tried to dance with on my ocean.

Peace,

Pookah

2 thoughts on “Life’s a Beach

  1. Me too. I always think about the little fish getting eaten by the bigger fish, then an even bigger fish eats him, and before you know it I’m all paranoid about sharks! And heaven forbid if something brushes by my leg. Of course I get that way in a lake too (there’s some pretty darn big things in a lake), so I’d choose the ocean. Much better smelling and sounding, I agree!

Leave a Reply

