Gift Giving

One of the best parts about being a knitter is giving gifts. I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love to give gifts. I love to see the looks on their faces when they open my gift, especially if they love it as much as I think they do. I’m not sure if I’m a good gift-giver. I like to think I am. And a few special people in my life have been really excited about gifts I’ve given. So I think I’m entitled to a little pat on the back. <pat, pat, pat> I need that.

Knitting wise, I get way more excited about making things for other people than I do myself. This could be why I rarely knit anything for myself.

Almost a year ago to the date, I was very excited to make my friend Jody a little something for her birthday. Jody is my friend who got me interested in knitting. During my grad school days, she was busy knitting cute stuff and I was just too swamped to think about learning something new. But I watched…and envied. And she made me a lovely white scarf that I still wear.  Fast forward to 2010 (and to me thoroughly obsessed with knitting), I finally knit Jody something that I was super proud to give her – a sweet little circular coin purse that I had felted in my washing machine. Sadly, I was in a little down spot in my life and just wasn’t excited about finishing anything. I never got around  to sewing the zipper on and giving it to her when she and another friend came to visit.

Side view of felted coin purse.

I remember sitting on a patio with them in a posh restaurant crying my eyes out because I was stuck in life and in a bad situation. I guess I was also stuck with projects. Now I am officially unstuck – a perfect time to pick this back up and send to a friend, thanking her for patting me on the back while I cried.

Peace, Pookah

Leave a Reply

