A Different Kind of Casting

Image

Me n my fish....Miss Piggy is somewhere in there

I’ve been learning a different kind of casting then I am used to…..and I’m way worse at this one. I’ve been fishing twice in the last two weeks and I have to say, I like it. I never thought I would. It also helps when you catch things.

I was given my very own fishing pole, named Shakespeare’s Ugly Stick. I named it Iago because I am a lit geek. After practicing casting the backyard, we walked to the pond nearby and I did okay for my first time. I caught my first catfish last weekend and was super happy (my guy said it was a really big one!) but then I felt instantly guilty and whispered, “I’m sorry!” to it.

Then we went again Friday and my casting was all over the place. Kind of like long-tail the first time I did it and stubbornly exclaimed that I was NEVER doing that again. But, I caught five catfish! Yes, five! One of them made an adorable grunting noise so I named it Miss Piggy. Then she and all the others were put on this stringy-thing (yes, I’m using all technical terms now) and brought back to be cleaned. We had a fish fry on Sunday….and they were delicious. Gah! You know what helps? If you don’t name the fish you catch and plan to eat.Sigh.

Peace,

Pookah

One thought on “A Different Kind of Casting

  1. Pingback: The Texasification of Pookah | Pookah Knits

Leave a Reply

