Stamped and Tagged

This is the first a few posts about craft making for the holidays. I really, really want to be crafty this season. This is one of the first holidays for which I haven’t knitted something for somebody. It feels strange. It just can’t be.

After stalking Pinterest for days upon days, I found tons of cheap craft ideas for the holidays and decided I would qualm my craft bug by trying a few out. I first thought about making ornaments for my new mini tree, so many of my ideas are ornament related. I’ve also been obsessed with adorable packages. I’ve always wanted to wrap gifts in adorable new ways, but I’m far too much of a procrastinator. I’m usually furiously knitting on Christmas Eve or the day before I need to ship packages back East. So by the time I’m done, I slap some normal store-bought wrapping paper on my packages and am lucky if I remember to put name tags on them. One year I was organized enough to have put them in clear bags with colored tissue paper….snazzy. I want to be a better person. I want to give someone a gift that is so pretty they don’t want to open it…or they do, but they want to take a picture of it first.

photoI have since created a Gifty Pinterest Board and have gone crazy.

The plan for handmade gloriousness:

  • Craft paper
  • Ribbons
  • Stamps
  • Yarn
  • Clothespins
  • Buttons
  • Lots of glue

O’ Christmas Tree

First  up, you already know about these sweet, knitted Christmas trees. I decided to knit a few to adorn gifts this year. I think these would look adorable with some red and white polka dot ribbon, don’t you?!

A few years back a friend bought me an adorable knitting themed stamp set. So among the many things I purchased at my craft store was a deep red stamp pad. I cut out a tiny tag of craft paper with my stylized scissors and stamped my “made by” stamp on. It is impossible for a knitter not to scream, “I MADE THAT! YES, ME!” We are not the quiet bunch of grannies so many people think we are.

Peace and Fleece,

Pookah

3 thoughts on “Stamped and Tagged

  1. Pingback: …and Clipped | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

