Hear Ye, Hear Ye: My Life in Audiobooks

Hey, remember that one time when I insulted you and told you that you were an idiot if you don’t have a library card.

Fun times.

I’m sorry, I get a little crazy about things I’m obsessed with.

With that insult, I present to you….your library! If you read like me, your monthly budget for literature would likely amass to a few hundred bucks. This cannot happen. I may have mentioned on here that I have a very long commute to work, so I use this time to listen to audiobooks. I started using this strategy when I moved to California and had to commute for the first time and found quickly that the traffic made me want to strangle someone. The only thing that would placate me was Harry Potter audiobooks. Since then, I’ve been hooked. Currently, I go through approximately one audiobook per week.

This brings me back to libraries. Have you seen how expensive audiobooks can be? Completely out of the range of my budget. I love the library. I get 99.9% of my audiobooks from the three libraries for which I hold cards in my wallet. I realize three may be overdoing it. Also, I say 99.9% because one time I bought an audiobook on my iPhone.

Listened to

Click to view my recently read audiobooks on Goodreads

Through my Public Library System, I use a service called Overdrive which is a distributor of both ebooks and audiobooks. They service a variety of formats, from Kindle to MP3 files. It is the public library’s genius response to America’s desire for electronic resources.

The service works just like a paper book may at your library. You search the database, locate and then check out the book for a specific period of time. I’m sure you are wondering why and all I can tell you is that nothing is free. I believe that libraries pay per license to distribute the book, so this is why you only have limited check-out period with the book.

I use the Overdrive Media Console in my car to listen to books on MP3 and also read ebooks on my iPad because thank you sweet baby Jesus, Amazon and the Public Library System/Overdrive have decided to work together to allow me to access their ebooks through my Kindle account. This is how I read a lot of my “guilty pleasure” reading, which you will hear all about later in the week.

audiobook

I always keep a handy supply of audiobooks, ponchos and bug spray in my car. This is Texas, you know.

Back to audiobooks. What do I like to listen to? Well, it started with Harry Potter and other YA, like Rick Riordan. The simple sentence structure of YA novels were something I could handle whilst gritting my teeth in traffic. I tried to listen to the classics, thinking I could easily re-read so many of them while driving. However, I noticed quickly that I would zone out completely, remembering that I am not an aural learner.

Somehow I made my way to listening to memoir and humorous nonfiction. I love listening to celebrity memoirs and stunt journalism by the likes of A.J. Jacobs. Other than nonfiction, I love to listen to thrillers and mysteries on audiobook. It’s kind of like listening to a movie. Plus, you wouldn’t believe how fast your commute goes when you are listening to murder. Here’s a short list of my Top Five Favorite Audiobooks that I can remember:

  1. Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection by A.J. Jacobs
  2. Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres
  3. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson
  4. Ashes to Ashes by Tami Hoag
  5. The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

If you have a long and/or angry commute, do us all a favor and try an audiobook. I believe that it would do wonders for all of those bird-flipping, cutting you off, speeding bullet drivers on the highway. Just say no to road rage.

Happy reading/listening, gang.

20130203-081852.jpg

One thought on “Hear Ye, Hear Ye: My Life in Audiobooks

  1. Pingback: Support Your Local Library! | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

