Pucker Up!

smackI’m crazy when it comes to lip balm. I consider dry, cracking lips my nemesis. So, it makes sense for my battle against dry lips and infatuation with lip balm is my next obsession of the week.

My standby for years and years was Burt’s Bees simple beeswax lip balm. At three bucks a pop, you can’t go wrong and this tube is major. You can find it anywhere and is my go-to balm. That said, I change lip balms like most girls change socks. Right now, there are three different kinds within my reach, in my purse and on my office desk. Here are the top three that I cannot be without (erm, at the moment):

1. Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Balm $22.50 sephora.com

I know, I know $22.50?! Good grief. First off, this was a birthday freebie from Sephora.com because this is a steep price for a thrifty girl like me to pay. (If you do not below to the Sephora membership club, do it!) That said, I am running out and completely freaking out. The tinted lip balm is amazing. So frequently, tinted balms taste like grade-school cherry or some obnoxious fruit. Not this one. Plus the color is amazing. The next time I place an order, I’m pretty sure this will be snuck in at the last moment. Oops!

2. eos Lip Balm – Sweet Mint $3.00 walgreens.com

Okay, now I can breathe again, three bucks in much better. Put the paper bag away now. Funny enough, I was reluctant to try this balm because of its funny, orb-like shape. Now I’m like, “this is genius!” I usually keep my tube in the front pouch of my purse and there is no way this orb would fit. I thought I’d be searching furiously for it in my bag. But, the orb shape is exactly what makes it so easy to find. For some reason, I’m always frantic about putting lip balm on, like if I don’t find it and apply it in one second, my head will explode! I’m not sure what is wrong with me. eos is fabulous. I really like the simple, sweet mint flavor that I purchased and the balm feels like it stays on for hours.

3. Rosebud Salve $6.00 sephora.com

I order from Sephora’s online site frequently and I’m always searching for a something that costs a few bucks so I can get free shipping. I mean, why pay five bucks for shipping when you can just get something else? I saw Rosebud Salve on one of those under $10 searches. I had always read about this cult-favorite salve and thought I would give it a shot. I drank the Kool-Aid and there is no going back. I was completely sold on the fact that it said you could use this salve on your dry lips, then apply it to dry elbows and hey, while you are at it, cure your baby’s diaper rash! Wow! All jokes aside, I cannot live without this.

As far as lipstick, I’m pretty much a low-fuss gal. I’m not a fan of sticky lips and haven’t found a lipstick that I’ve fallen in love with yet. For now, I’ve been using a lip stain, finding that layering it and my lip balm is the best option for me. The only stain I’ve tried is Cover Girl Outlast ($8.99, walgreens.com) and found that I like a few shades. One downside is that it seems to lose its “oompf” quickly  so I’d like to try a different brand. I love the look of lip color and would love to find a lipstick shade and brand that I adore. Any recommendations for sticks or stains readers?

In other news, how is your water challenge going? I drank my 64 ounces and feel quite good about myself yet completely shocked at how much we are really supposed to drink. I’ve also heard that you should also drink 8 oz. of water for every 8 oz. of caffeinated beverages you drink per day. Ga!

20130217-003033.jpg

One thought on “Pucker Up!

Leave a Reply

