Colorful Claws

Colorful Claws

Let me start this off by saying, again…I am not an expert. I’m very simple and non-blingy person. This was confirmed for me when getting a manicure the and the gal kept insisting that I get some glitter or design. Nope, I’m a plain jane and just prefer red, grey or dark nail polish. I am also incredibly cheap when it comes to nail polish. It is the one area of my beauty regime where I do not have a splurge. If I have to pay over seven dollars for a shade, I’m usually feeling pretty angry.

I did realize during that appointment though that I am ruining my nails by not using the proper products. Such as a shellac. Nails need much more than just one coat of polish. Also, I Ned to expand my color choices, so I could some recommendations gals. I do love my base of nail colors so I quite happy with my choices. Here’s what I’m wearing these days:

20130223-184108.jpg

1. essie Nail Color – Chinchilly $8, target.com. I’ve never received more compliments on anything than when I wear this nail polish. It is such a rad color, a great neutral.

2. Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Fast Dry Nail Color in Racey Rouge $5, walgreens.com. My favorite bright red, gorgeous.

3. L’Oreal Colour Riche Nail Color in Haute Couture Red, $6, walgreens.com. Deep, deep, deep lovely red.

4. Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Extreme Wear Nail Color in Grey Area $3,ulta.com. Fancy, dark grey-purple.

5. Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Treatment, Natural Tint $3 target.com.

My Valentine's Nails

For inspiration, check out Hello Giggle’s Nails of the Day.

I am not at all experimental when it comes to nails, but I adore the ideas gals come up with! I’d really like to branch out more when it comes to nails, so can a gal get some recommendations?

20130217-003033.jpg

2 thoughts on “Colorful Claws

  1. Take a look at some of your favorite clothes. If there are any colors that stand out, get that in nail polish, and maybe some contrasting colors. I used to stick to pink/red, but started branching out a little more. I still don’t like dark or brown-ish nail polish. It looks weird on my hands?

    With your love of crafts, how can you not love the craft herpes in nail polish – glitter!!! Blasphemy, I tell you! But in all seriousness, there are some more subtle color on color glitters that give a little shine, and aren’t disco ball blingy. You can always do one nail with something “louder” too. There are bazillions of nail art tutorials online. I’m starting to experiment… it is quite fun!

    • That is such a good idea! I actually just splurged in a more risqué color for me, it’s a dark indigo. It’s a bit strange but I think I dig it. I’m gonna go check out my closet!!

Leave a Reply

