Growth

My new niece spent many comfy months growing and now she is here! I am finally going to get to see her next weekend, so I have been creating some growth of my own… in knit form of course.

ImageMy first project on my big kid’s knit list is Khloe’s Kardigan, which started off like that big messy piece of yarn to the left. I have been knitting furiously on it because I want to make sure it is all finished and wrapped up pretty before we go to visit my family. I believe I am about 80% complete now, just having some sleeves and finishing bits left to do.

The pattern for my cardigan is Kelly Brooker’s Puerperium Cardigan on Ravelry. I found this pattern through my friend over at AB Takes CA, she is very talented and made this adorable cardigan with a super cute addition… wait for it….an little, owl embellishment on the bottom! I remember saving this to my Favorites in Ravelry quicker than you can say “Puerperium”, which actually really isn’t all that fast because I still don’t know how to pronounce it….but I digress. Her little owl cardigan made my heart melt. I realized that I had the perfect reason to make it upon hearing the news that I had a new niece coming. Joy!

ImageAfter two weeks, Khloe’s Kardigan now looks like this.

The little teal pieces of yarn are just waste yarn waiting there for me to pick the stitches up and knit the arms. I think I will make this a short sleeve or quarter-length sleeved cardi, one that she can wear a super cute onesie underneath.

20130217-003033.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “Growth

  1. LOVE that color! Can’t wait to see it finished!!! πŸ™‚ PS–I can’t pronounce “Puerperium”…and I did in fact, have to look up what it meant. PSPS–I love your ‘Khloe’s Kardigan’ pun. πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Put an Owl On It | i like to make things with my hands

  3. Pingback: So, What Size Will My Friend’s Baby’s Head Be in Two Months? | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

