Grow, Grow, Grow!

After shopping around for our fruits and veggies on Friday, it was time to get to planting. Thankfully, it was the most gorgeous weekend outside you could imagine. I even got my first farmer’s tan of the season.

dirtExcept, I decided to sleep in until 11 a.m.

I was told I will never be a farmer if I decide to sleep in so late.

Meh.

When I came outside my guy had already built the raised planter for our garden. He’s mighty handy, I love him. So, with coffee in hand…I helped…supervise the pouring of dirt. shiner helps

Shiner also helped supervise, which includes barking like mad when we refuse to turn the hose on him. That dog loves water like crazy.

We planted our veggies toward the front of the garden so that our strawberries do not get spicy from the jalapenos. Though that would be interesting. From front to back, our garden includes:

garden

  • Three kinds of tomatoes (Roma, Bonnie and Beefstake)
  • Jalapenos
  • Green bell pepper
  • Okra
  • Cucumber
  • Crookneck yellow squash
  • Zucchini
  • Strawberry
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon

pots

The pots up front include two pots of cilantro and one pot of peppermint. Aren’t these gorgeous? The pots were given to me by my godmother when I lived in San Diego.

We doused the plants in water (while Shiner jealously barked) and now that it has rained almost every day since, that sad looking bit of cilantro there is now standing completely upright and full.

Beautiful. Have I mentioned that I cannot wait to eat everything here? I’ve got big plans for that mint, which may include iced tea. And those zucchini? I’m eying you up there zucchini fritters. Delish!

20130318-211940.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Grow, Grow, Grow!

    • Hi myfoodandflowers! That is a great question and I’m so glad you brought this to my attention! I panicked at first because, yes ours is pressure treated wood. So I attacked the internet to find out if I was going to die. Thankfully, the answer is no, whew! The wood we bought from Lowe’s is ACQ treated wood which replaced the CCA treated wood when that was pretty much banned from use due to EPA sanctions. It contained arsenic, yikes! That said, ACQ contains copper and reports show it can leach small amounts of copper into the soil so they recommend not planting close to the wood. Thankfully, we don’t have any plants next to the wood and the amount of leeching is miniscule anyway. Still, I can see where that can be a little alarming,especially for those of us who prefer organic if we can! Some say to put a little plastic lining around the wood in case of minimal seepage but plastic cannot be any better! Most say to use redwood or cedar if you want to be organic, which I may splurge and do next time. Thank you!!

      • Glad you do your reserch and now we are all educated with information! Thank you too!

        I hope we will have good weather to start our garden outdoor and have good crops this year!

  1. Pingback: I Can Dig It | i like to make things with my hands

  2. Pingback: Garden Grove | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

