Spring Scrubbing and DIY

scrubsI don’t know about you, but spring makes me want to scrub. I’m a cleaner so really anything makes me want to scrub, from anger to excitement. There’s nothing that can’t be fixed with some elbow grease.

As I looked at our windows and those cracks and crevices on doors or corners, I got the itch to take everything out of our place, make it spic and span and return it. That said, we live in a little studio, so I don’t think I would make any friends by completing uprooting everything in our space, so I’ve settled for the next best thing: a little DIY to add to my spring cleaning routine.

the gear

DIY Supply!

If you are like me, Pinterest is an apple-teasing serpent who likes to suck away hours of your attention, aka it’s the bomb-diggidity. I’ve pinned some recent DIY products to my Why Buy It When I Can Make It? board and decided to give this a shot. So. Freakin. Excited.

We have quite a bit of cleaners under our sink, so I’m only planning on making a few that we actually need. For instance, we have a Costco-sized jug of Windex that I’ve been toting around since 2006, so we’re all good on those windows. Some of the products I am interested in making are:

  • All-purpose, multi-surface cleaner
  • Tub and shower cleaner
  • Aromatherapy spray
  • Yoga mat spray
  • Air freshener for my car
fun funnel

Super fun funnels!

I’m also really interested in making my own cleaning wipes, you know the ones that already come pre-wetted with cleaner? I love those for quick clean-ups but I feel like I should be extra-nature-friendly for this DIY experiment. I already feel bad enough buying cheap plastic gear that I’m pretty sure was not made in America. Sigh. I was just too excited to wait… Forgive me.

spray

spppssh…spppssh!

So, this mixologist is gathering up her supplies in order to start the chemistry experiments this weekend. The DIY gear is pretty simple. You will need:

  • A jar (I collect mason jars like its my job. If you don’t have one, may I recommend Clasico past sauce jars – they also make perfect glassware for iced tea).
  • Spray Bottles
  • Funnels
  • Measuring cups and spoons
  • Towels
  • Patience (not available at Target….I’ve looked)

Next up, the ingredients! Which of course, involves more fun shopping, this time at a natural food store.

In the meantime, I’d like to hear from you. Have you made or used any of these DIY cleaning supply products? If not, is there a particular product you’d especially like to make? Please share!

20130406-071047.jpg

One thought on “Spring Scrubbing and DIY

  1. Pingback: Pookah Goes Shopping! | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

