My Spic ‘n Span Weekend

I am OBSESSED with my new all-purpose cleaner. Seriously. Obsessed. I love the smell so much. I also never realized how angsty I felt about the chemicals in my cleaners until now. That is why this stuff is so safe, simple pure ingredients. Cleaning naturally.

Clearly, I’m sold.

Look at these ingredients. Could it get simpler?

ingredients

I found my recipe on Pinterest and now lives on my Why But It When You Can Make It board. I’ve deemed this to be called “The Cleaner” because I now need nothing else.

THE CLEANER

modified from Brightnest.com

  • 1/4 coup Baking Soda
  • 1/2 gallon water
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • A few drops of Lemon Eucalyptus essential oil
fun with funnels

Fun with Funnels

I’ll be honest. I got a little too excited and just “eyeballed it” when it came to measurements. I really just wanted to use the funnel so I concentrated all of my efforts on pouring instead of measuring.

But I did use the cups, so I’m pretty sure I’m close.

The proof is in the pudding and I put The Cleaner to the test by using everywhere this weekend.

I started in the bathroom because it was a disaster. We thankfully split the cleaning duties. I could care less about dusting, laundry and vacuuming as long as I don’t have to worry about servicing Bob, my Honda, or touching the bathroom. But last weekend he sliced open his hand so the bathroom has been suffering ever since.

cleaning

Action Shot!

This cleaner made our bathroom smell amazing so I was impressed. I also never realized how aware I was about spraying anywhere near our cat’s bowls, which reside right next to our sink. I typically move them out completely, then rinse everything and replace. This is still a good idea in general, but now I don’t have to be such a freak about it with my natural cleaner.

I then moved to the rest of our studio and was pleased to see that the cleaner worked quickly on the sticky coffee stains I create every morning next to the Keurig. But I wondered how the spray would work on areas where you would notice streaks easily. So I ended the weekend attacking the dashboard in my Honda. No streaks! Woot! And the scent? Mmmm or shall I say Ommm?! The smell went well with my Bamboo scented air freshener.

The verdict? Approved!

Try. This. Now. The Cleaner was super easy to make, easy on the wallet, has great cleaning power and you can make it any scent you would like. I may never go back to commercial products again.

20130406-071047.jpg

Leave a Reply

