Scumptious Veggie Pizza

Ready for the first food experiment this week?!

Well, this isn’t really an experiment, this is just a yummy recipe that I crave on a regular basis but have only recently made. When we had my guy’s graduation party, I really wanted to help. But as I am a disaster in the kitchen, I was a little worried about making anything for the masses of people that were going to show up. The only treats I was willing to make were cold items so I wouldn’t have to worry about giving our guests salmonella. Like those beautiful graduation caps! (Holla!).

So I made my favorite appetizer, Veggie Pizza, as a test one night for dinner. I was ecstatic when all of the smart people in my house (aka. the ones who eat vegetables) loved it! Better yet, it was a hit at the graduation party.

veggiesThis week, I decided to make it again because we had some fresh, ripe veggies that we just plucked from our garden. That red Roma tomato and crisp green bell pepper was basically made by this here girl.

So here is Veggie Pizza!

Veggie Pizza

  • 2 tube of frozen crescent rolls
  • 1 package cream cheese
  • 1 packet ranch dressing mix
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup shredded cheese
  • assorted veggies: fresh broccoli, tomato, green onions, green pepper, shredded carrots, avocado, cucumber. Whatever your little heart desires!

Directions:

  1. Unroll crescent rolls and lie flat on a greased cookie sheet. Bake as directed on package.
  2. Meanwhile, get to chopping! I like my veggies diced so I can get “the perfect bite”…this is a very serious matter.
  3. Soften cream cheese, mix with sour cream and ranch packet until smooth
  4. Continue to chop until your arm hates you and you realize there is a lovely little chopper in the kitchen. Ahhh!
  5. Take out crescent roll “crust” and place in refrigerator to cool for approximately 15 minutes. (It helps if you take it off of sheet and place on a platter. Also, I’m impatient).
  6. Once your crust has cooled, spread ranch/sour cream cheese mix onto crust.
  7. Sprinkle shredded cheese.
  8. Layers veggies on top.
  9. Slice and enjoy!

veggie pizza

Disclaimer: Though this recipe requires the use of loads of fresh veggies, please note that this is not a healthy recipe. Regardless of the amounts of greens, this is all about the sour cream and cream cheese. That’s what I call the deliciousness.

Ideas! When I made this for my guy’s graduation party, his cousin asked if we could put avocado on top. OF COURSE!! It was so good that we thought about adding in some avocado to the ranch sour cream cheese mix….yes!

P.S. I am experimenting with a new photo app this month, can you tell? The app is from the bloggers that I love over at A Beautiful Mess and it is awesome! Download it now!

20130526-204349.jpg

One thought on “Scumptious Veggie Pizza

Leave a Reply

