Curry Chicken Salad

This post can also be called “How To Rescue Your Dinner”

Harumph.

Remember when I wanted to find a cheese-less Chicken Parmesan recipe? Yea, that doesn’t really exist. I did; however, try something similar by making some Italian cutlets of chicken using Italian Seasoned breadcrumbs, served with brown rice spaghetti pasta, an homage to my clean eating days.

curry chicken

It was disgusting. I don’t know what to say. But this is what happens when you get all experimental. Sigh.

So, what do you do with all of that chicken that is left over? Throw it away?! Please, there are starving children in America, kids. I don’t waste. So, I peeled off the “breading” (which really wasn’t all that hard) and decided to save the chicken…which definitely needed some rescuing/seasoning.

Sadly, this isn’t the first time this has happened to me. I have a go-to recipe for my failed chicken dinner leftovers.

That says a lot…doesn’t it.

Hence, my Curry Chicken Salad…hurrah! It’s like a superhero sandwich.

Curry Chicken Salad Sandwichsandwich

  • chicken breast, baked or grilled (maybe the leftovers from the terrible meal you attempted to cook last night?)
  • curry powder
  • green onions
  • golden raisins
  • raw, unsalted cashew pieces
  • mayonnaise, with olive oil (I don’t believe in Miracle Whip, but if you do…go for it!)
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Make note of how many chicken breasts you have because most of the directions depend on how much leftover chicken you have from your disaster.
  2. Chop or shred chicken, place in large mixing bowl.
  3. Throw in a handful of raisins and cashews, I like to chop them up a bit (again, so I can get the perfect bite of flavors).
  4. Add in your curry powder. A good ratio is one tablespoon per one chicken breast.
  5. Snip your green onions with scissors and throw in a few. I usually use one green onion per chicken breast.
  6. Salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Mix in mayonnaise (approximately 1/2 cup per one chicken breast).

Spread on some delicious bread or tortilla, maybe topped with some lettuce and a fresh tomato from your garden and enjoy! Pictured is some delicious/very unhealthy white bread because my guy gave up on wheat bread. Bummer. Though it is still delicious on this, I think it would be delicious on some sourdough or french baguette. mmmm.

Hint: If I have a lot, I will wait to add in the mayonnaise until the day I want to eat my sandwich. This way, the chicken salad will have a longer shelf life.

20130526-204349.jpg

Leave a Reply

