Tried It! Garlicky Green Beans

We’ve been frequenting a wonderful farmers market lately where I go completely crazy. If you are my Instagram friend (which I hope you are…), you may notice I’ve been posting pictures of Texas peaches and medio litres of Pepsi. That is all from our most recent visit to the farmers market. Even better, one the way is the most delicious BBQ joint with fantastic blackberry cobbler. And we go on weekends so I can have my very own cobbler. Mmmm, now it is only Tuesday and I want cobbler.

Back to clean(ish) eating.

My cravings for seafood have been strong lately, perhaps because we went to a boat-show this weekend. So I bought some pre-seasoned salmon and was looking for the perfect, healthy sides for it. Sweet potatoes are always good because they are high in fiber and delicious. I bought some fresh green beans at the market and have been looking for a good recipe for them when I stumbled upon a recipe that heavily featured garlic. I loooove garlic. I come from an Italian community and though my family is not Italian (at least that we know of), we have a special affection for its savory goodness. It became a problem in the 90s when my father ate so much garlic that he sweat garlic from his pores and no one wanted to sit next to him.

beansSo when I saw a recipe for Garlicky Green Beans with Pine Nuts from Real Simple, my heart skipped a beat. In my defense, garlic is extremely good for your heart. I just so happened to have pine nuts on my shelf so I took this as a sign from above that I am supposed to make this for my salmon.

So, I tried it. And love it. I always buy green beans in hopes that I can make them taste and crunch just like those at the Chinese buffet. Aren’t those perfect? Just the right amount of crunch and are sauteed in delicious sauce. Mine always turned out too crunchy and lack the delicious, savory flavor. Garlicky Green Beans is my new favorite recipe, even if I don’t have the pine nuts.

pine nutsA word on pine nuts. Why are these diamonds of the nut world so expensive? Every time I look at them, they are like five million dollars a pound. Ga! I wouldn’t have these on hand if it weren’t for a friend who just brought a bunch to me.

I made  a few changes, but nothing so drastic that I wouldn’t say Real Simple’s recipe is amazing. Give it a shot next time you need a fresh veggie side dish.

Garlicky Green Beans

based on Real Simple’s recipe

  • handful of green beans, snapped
  • olive oil
  • 2 large cloves garlic, diced
  • pine nuts (as your wallet allows)
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh lemon

mealDirections

  1. Snap those beans! This was the only part of “cooking” that my family would trust me with. I still love it.
  2. Boil green beans in salted water until they reach desired “crunch” – for me, it was about 3-4 minutes
  3. Coat a small skillet a olive oil and bring to medium heat
  4. Add in pine nuts and sautée until golden brown
  5. Add in green beans, season with salt and pepper to taste and sautée until coated with delicious garlic goodness
  6. Before serving, squeeze lemon on top and enjoy!

20130622-195750.jpg

2 thoughts on “Tried It! Garlicky Green Beans

Leave a Reply

