Polka Dots and Popsicles

The Pops

I keep having partial success with my boozicles. I’m not fully in love with the ones I’ve made but they keep getting better as I learn. Hopefully I’ll have some success this weekend.

popsicleWhy am I telling you about my failures? Well, because experimenting and mistakes creates frustration so I decided to finally stop guessing and just look it up! And I’ve finally figured it out. The ratio for alcohol to other ingredients for popsicles in quite low, basically 20% of your liquid ingredients. Which in my book was just not enough.  I was hoping it would be more like half and half.

But, no.

And actually, it is better that way. The alcohol taste in my newest pop was just enough.

Here’s the recipe:

Razzle Grapefruit Pop

  • 1/4 cup Austin’s Deep Eddy Ruby Red Vodka
  • raspberries
  • 3/4 cup water
  • one tablespoon sugar

Recipe is for a four-part popsicle mold with straws that I got at Bed, Bath and Beyond for less than ten dollars.

  1. Blend together sugar, water, vodka and a handful of raspberries
  2. Add mixture to popsicle mold
  3. Drop in a few whole raspberries, these are delicious when frozen
  4. Freeze
  5. When ready, run some hot water over bottom part of mold and wiggle pop free.

Notes: If you don’t want seed, you should strain it before pouring into the molds. Also, we made this with two teaspoons sugar and found it a bit sour. Why goes easy on sugar, it’s dessert! Yum!

The Polka

polka

Since I’ve moved to Texas I’ve tried to be better about acessorizing…because Texans really, really, really like their bling.

So back in May, I decided to start buying and making jewelry and now I love jewelry and made this my month blog theme for May. My favorite find has been Charming Charlie.

I’m a bit of a plain Jane when it comes down to it, so I’ve been trying to step it up. Usually, I opt for dangly earrings as my only accessory. But today I think I’ve done a pretty okay job with sprucing up my outfit in a spartan-like me sort of way, pairing up my bright red polka-dot shirt with some gold and rosey dots.

These are all purchased, but I’m loving some of the jewelry my friends are making and am hoping to incorporate some more DIY jewelry in September’s blog theme!

20130720-201559.jpg

2 thoughts on “Polka Dots and Popsicles

Leave a Reply

