Crochet Kuchi Earrings

crochet earringsFirst, I just want to remind you that I’m completely new to this crochet thing. Though that crochet class helped immensely, I can barely understand the directions so crocheting actual items (as opposed to free-form thingies) is pretty hard.

To make me practice, I’ve chosen crochet as my September blog theme though you could hardly tell by the looks of this blog this month. Oops.

Anyway, I’ve been lusting over ridiculously beautiful crochet earrings on Ravelry. They are lacely, gorgeous, intricate and look extremely difficult.

Probably because they are.

I’m confused by everything. Most patterns say “oh just go ahead and start with a magic loop”. Well what the hell? I Google’d it and yea okay, magic loop is like what I learned in class. You chain a number of stitches, slip to connect and then start making your stitches into the circle — but the pattern directions DO NOT always tell you how many to chain!! This is just too much freedom for this constrained knitter. Knit patterns are not free. They do not just leave important things like the number of stitches in the cast on row just up to you. Squeak! Okay, so I realize that the magic loop is magic because it is adjustable. But, eek! That’s just the sort of thing that would freak a newbie out.

But I blindly, lovingly jumped and tried out some earrings.

done!With partial success.

These earrings were adapted from Life in a Gilded Bottle’s Crocheted Kuchi Earrings. I say adapted because I tried to complete the pattern but well…I’m new to this and couldn’t understand what to do next. I’m sure it will all sink in with time.

Basically my pattern involves these following rows instead:

  1. Ch 5 and join with sl st to form a ring.
  2. Ch 3 (counts as first dc), *dc into the ring and ch 1, repeat from * 6 times, dc (8 in all). Turn
  3. Ch 3, dc 2 times into every space across (15 in all).
  4. With yarn needle, thread through last loop to secure.
  5. Grab your earring hook and stitch remaining thread through hook and secure.
  6. Grab your bottle of Stiffy Fabric Stiffener and soak earrings, lay flat overnight to dry.
  7. Ta-da!

20130720-201559.jpg

Leave a Reply

