The Unifinished List

31 days themeLe sigh.

I went through my little dungeon of dying projects and found quite a few unfinishable things I can work on during this 31 Days Challange. That, along with my unending Ravelry and Pinterest plans, make for quite a month. Here’s where I’m starting, enough projects for a whole rainbow of colors!

The List of Unfinishables

The Washer Necklace

The story:  I am lucky to have a super rad group of crafters to laugh with here in Texas. My friend holds a monthly Crafternoon for us where we can work on a group craft or just any of our ongoing projects. This month, we decided to make this beautiful necklace from painted washers. Great idea! Problem is, mine didn’t turn out so beautiful.

Finishing Problem: I hate everything.

The Second Holden Shawlette

The story:  I’ve mentioned here before that I have some of the best friends a gal could ask for. My lovely friends back in Cali are at the top of that list and I miss them so much. To say thank you for their love and support, I wanted to make them their own Holden Shawlette since they liked mine so much. They even picked out their colors! The problem is, that decision was made over a year ago and I still haven’t followed through, having only made one so far (and that was recently).

Finishing Problem: Procrastination, procrastination, procrastination.

The Tempting Grub

The story:  Ah, Pinterest. You are the devil. I spend so many useless minutes pinning away on my boards, making plans for delicious food I am likely never going to make. This yummy-looking Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork and these zucchini fritters were a few of the first things I ever pinned. The problem is, I still have never tasted them.

Finishing Problem: I suck at this.

The Clutch Crutch

The story:  I made this beautiful purse ages and ages ago and completely forgot about it. That is the best thing about moving, you find things! Did I mention that I started this project in 2010?!! The problem is, I need materials to finish it. Shopping? That’s a good problem.

Finishing Problem: I forgot.

The End of a Series

The story:  If you are an intense reader with book ADD like me, chances are you have lots of unfinished books on your nightstand. The biggest one haunting me? Mockingjay. Yes, the last book in that amazing series that is called Hunger Games. The problem is, I’m too sad for it to end so just plain refuse to read it.

Finishing Problem: Painful, mental block. I just can’t, okay?! leave me alone…

The New Craft

The story:  “Look at this! Ooh, look at this!” That is what I sounded like the first time I looked up crochet patterns on Ravelry. The possibilities were endless….and so is my to-do list. This was the first pattern I was just DYING to make. The problem is, I still haven’t.

Finishing Problem: Too many projects, not enough time.

The Storage Solution

The story: Wow, any one of the project in this Pinterest board of mine could be in this challenge. Why Buy It When I Can Make It? Well, because as history indicates, I probably WON’T! I only picked this wonderful project because I love mason jars and at some point was so excited about making some bathroom storage that I actually bought some of the materials needed to finish it. Pinterest, the land of good intentions.

Finishing Problem: Too much Pinterest planning.

Deep breath. Let’s jump right in guys.

20131002-200201.jpg

14 thoughts on “The Unifinished List

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finishing the Unfinishable | i like to make things with my hands

  2. I tried to read Mockingjay back when it was first published and I hated it. I tried again earlier this year and I decided I was temporarily insane because it was awesome. You should read it. 😉
    Love your series, by the way.

  3. You are hilarious! I love the “dungeon of dying projects”. Mine are scattered everywhere. No wonder I never have any knitting needles… I did pull a few old projects out – scarves, a hat, etc. Things I’ll never wear in Texas, but oh well. Or those cat mittens I started last year? Yeah.

    Good luck in finishing the unfinished! You can totally do it.

    P.S. I haven’t finished my washer necklace either! Ha!

      • I painted mine about 10 bazillion times and put them in a bag. Now I think some of them are stuck together… oops. I might have also lost one or two when moving the freezer paper around. I guess I’ll see! I still need gold chain to finish the plastic one, ugh.

        Craft stores are dangerous places to go alone, so I’ve been avoiding that. 😉

  4. Pingback: Shopping for the Weekend! | i like to make things with my hands

  5. Pingback: On (Starting to) Finish an Amazing Good Book Series | i like to make things with my hands

  6. Pingback: Endings | i like to make things with my hands

  7. Pingback: Spicy Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

