Strategies for Finishing

I used to make fun of my father for falling asleep on the couch in front of the TV. Now in my thirties, and after trying to finish the same episode of Breaking Bad 2.5 times, this is the story of my life. Being a grown-up is completely overrated.

photoAfter falling asleep with Mockingjay on my chest several times in the past few weeks,  I realized that there was no way I could possibly finish this book this month.

So I needed to get creative.

Many of you know that I am addicted to audio books and I am equally addicted to podcasts. My long commute leaves me with lots of uninterrupted time for daydreaming and practicing my vocal skills. But I love to read and I love to hear stories so I finally discovered that listening to audiobooks and NPR are far more useful ways to spend my commute — and far more fun. Plus, it helped me work my way through a long list of books I’ve very much been wanting to read. My list was getting out if control! So I finally gave in and checked out the Mockingjay audiobook on Overdrive from my library. I downloaded their app onto my iPhone and voila! Two days later and I’ve made more progress than I have in the last two weeks. And I LOVE it! This is a great example of how getting a little creative helps solve all of the world’s problems!

Try it out for yourself:

1. Organize – Make a list of the some of the projects you need to complete. If you seem to have a lot, try grouping them into categories, i.e. crafting, home improvement, etc. Don’t try to attack too much at once or you run the risk of getting overwhelmed and very unhappy.

2. Analyze – What is the issue that is making you not finish this project? Is it time, money or do you just not want to do it? At the beginning of this challenge I listed the problems I had with each project, sometimes a time issue, a materials problem or just plain ol laziness. Owning up to it will help push you over that hill to actually completing your project.

3. Get creative! – Think of ways to multitask or to just plow through and get it done! Don’t have the funds for your project? Create a piggy bank for your spare change and watch the fund grow. Is your problem a lack of time? Try to analyze your day and find a time when you can carve out a few moments, i.e. learning a new language while you drive or scrap booking while you watch your must-see-tv. Better yet, try to set up a fun day of craft or fix-it projects with your friends! Finishing your projects should be fun and you can’t go wrong with a fancy drink, some food and your crafty buds. Trying to paint your new room? Painting party time! You’ll be amazed to find out the hidden talents of your pals (mine = putting together IKEA furniture… All it takes is a beer).

4. Plan of attack – Send out invitations, make your shopping list, invite friends to a brunch where you’ll finally cook that new recipe. Make a timeline and think of a way to keep yourself honest. For me, it is this blog and participating in the 31 Days Challenge. Perhaps you can share your goal with a good friend who keeps you in check. Or maybe you will join us for the 31 Days Challenge next year?! Holla!

So grab a piece of paper, make a list and tell me about just one of your own Finishing Projects and let’s see if we can think of an idea…. I sure hope it includes an Evite for me with a fancy drink at the end!

20131020-093313.jpg

2 thoughts on “Strategies for Finishing

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Finishing the Unfinishable | i like to make things with my hands

  2. Pingback: The Ill-Fated Washer Necklace | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

