Spicy Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork

ImageStill finishing the unfinishable!

This weekend was a smorgasbord of meat at our house. I finally got to make the Spicy Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork from my Unfinished List and boy was it worth the wait.

To review:

The Tempting Grub

The story:  Ah, Pinterest. You are the devil. I spend so many useless minutes pinning away on my boards, making plans for delicious food I am likely never going to make. This yummy-looking Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork and these zucchini fritters were a few of the first things I ever pinned. The problem is, I still have never tasted them. Finishing Problem: I suck at this.

To be frank, I was pretty worried about making this because I don’t have the best track record when it comes to meat. But this recipe? Doesn’t get any easier.

I pinned this pulled pork recipe from The Pioneer Woman a few years back precisely because it sounds amazing and looks somewhat easy to make, even for me. And that’s the truth.

You basically take a pork roast, season it with salt and pepper and then bake it for six hours in a delicious mix of Dr. Pepper and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. It comes out very moist and will fall apart in the pan. We served our pork in tortillas with lettuce, avocado, tomato and cheese of course, alongside some rice and beans. The meat is the perfect balance of sweet and spicy, my favorite thing!

burrito bowlToday for lunch I even feasted on the leftovers in the form of a burrito bowl, a base of meat, layer of beans and rice, topped with shredded lettuce, tomato and sour cream.

The recipe is located here…you should run out to buy the ingredients and have it now!

20131020-093313.jpg

Leave a Reply

