Finally! Some Affection for My Color Affection

Well hello there!

I know, I’ve been out of commission for quite some time. You see, I’ve been drowning in bunches and bunches of yarn, making one beast of a knit.

How many of my knittas out there have seen this majorly impressive knit called Color Affection? It is pretty amazing; you need to check it out. But, be warned…it will cause you grey hairs. You will cast on and then suddenly you will have aged five years and complain about your bones.

It is the longest knit on earth.

Only finally getting to the cast-off row after SEVEN MONTHS of knitting could bring me out of my blog hibernation.

Seven flippin’ months my friends.

At first, I had no affection for this color affection. I just wasn’t feeling my colors. Back in January I actually had delusions of completing it in February because the colors reminded me of Mardi Gras. Hilarious.

Again, seven months.

The saving grace of this knit is that I am looking forward to seeing it completed. My circular isn’t long enough to stretch it out, so I don’t really know what it will look like when I bind off. Plus, my knitting group is knitting this as a KAL (“knit-along”) so I can complain about how long it is taking with my friends. I really like the colors they chose and it is inspiring to see how my friends put colors together. Actually, It’s been pretty fun — though I think I am only saying this now because I’m so close to completing it.

Here’s the details and some pictures:

Color Affection by Veera Välimäki

January - got to the second color pretty quickly. I can sooo get this done in February!

January – got to the second color pretty quickly. I can sooo get this done in February!

February - Got the the third color! That was kinda quick...

February – Got the the third color! That was kinda quick…

[…and that’s when “quick” stopped becoming a word I used when speaking about this knit. Then came one month of hibernation where I refused to look at my Color UnAffection.]

May

May – look at all of our pretty colors. I’m so glad I picked this project up again.

June

June – Will this effing thing ever end?!

July

July – Look at all that progress we’ve made! I finally made it to the final section.

I’m so glad to see you all again and I promise I will share a final picture with you. In the meantime, whatchu been up to?

20131120-204055.jpg

2 thoughts on “Finally! Some Affection for My Color Affection

  1. Pingback: Wrapping Up | i like to make things with my hands

Leave a Reply

