Yarn School, Part Three. Spinderella

This week I’m recapping my amazing trip to Yarn School in Harveyville back in October. Day Two was all about my adventures in the dye lab.

Day Three = Spinderella

Let me clear about one thing. I am not good at this.

I have to say, the spinning classes are what I was most nervous and excited for about Yarn School. Let’s just say that I DO NOT need another hobby. But I want one. As such, I was hopeful I would catch on quickly.

That did not happen.

But, as with most things in life, they take practice. I was not an amazing knitter, a proficient cross-stitcher or mediocre crocheter (meh?) the first time I tried.

Well, I am no spinning prodigy either.

drop spindlingI started my day drop-spindling like it’s hot. Some poor soul tried to teach me this back in San Diego and I was super happy to find my old spindle to bring with me to scool. I’ve got this down. Drop-spindling is actually pretty fun, but it would take me approximately 52 years to spin my ever-growing, six pounds of fiber that I now have as a result of this trip. The spinning wheel is much faster, more efficient and a whole faster. Which makes it much more intimidating. Just knowing where to put what was hard enough. After two days of this, I still don’t think I could tell you how to thread one of these.

spin timeI first tried the ancient looking Sleeping Beauty wheel. While gorgeous, we were not best friends. I kept slipping and could not find a comfortable position where I could keep the wheel going and not fly off my chair. My smile in this photo hides the fact that I have no clue what I am doing. In fact, I’m pretty sure my fiber flew off and there were a bunch of curses after I posed for this.

spinsterThen I moved to another one pedal, but more modern wheel. I wish I could remember the types I used, but one part of this school that I loved is that you had the opportunity to try different wheels and all of the pro-spinners there were happy to tell you about the different type of wheels they use. I was much better with the modern-type wheel (the lighter-colored wood ones in the above photos) and was soon filling up one meager bobbin.

It was inconsistent, imperfect, a bit of a mess and it was beautiful.

spun

 

I learned how to ply my two bobbins together to create one crazy skein of yarn. I wound it and am more than proud of my first skein than you could imagine. I don’t even think I can knit it into anything, I just want to hang it with a large, neon sign that says “I MADE THIS!”my handspun

I am now eager to have my new hobby and am actively saving for my very own wheel. I found a yarn shop near me that sells them, has classes and can help me like the toddler I am.

Again, If you are interested in learning how to dye fiber, spin or already know how to do both, this is the place for you. Check it out: The Harveyville Project.

20131120-204055.jpg

 

 

One thought on “Yarn School, Part Three. Spinderella

  1. You did such a great job! Seriously! I think the wheel you guys liked the most was the Louet S10 and maybe a Kromski or Fricke…

    I am knitting with some of my first handspun skeins… after 7 years. Use it now! Make more later!

Leave a Reply

