Colorful Rainbows of Fiber

IMG_6761I have set the Madeira aside for a while to focus on one of my other yearly crafting goal projects, the Striped Chevron Scarf. As I mentioned before, I’ve made this gorgeous scarf before but not the stripey version so I am very excited about this. I’m knitting it with two beautiful yarns that I absolutely adore.

The darker color is Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock in Farmhouse, which I purchased from L&B Yarn Co in Norman, Oklahoma while on our road trip to Yarn School. The lighter color is Malabrigo Sock Yarn in Primavera, purchased from WC Mercantile, our lovely LYS in Navasota Texas, during the super rad Hill Country Yarn Crawl.10979656_385718538276901_781409162_n

I am typically a solids type of girl and overwhelming choose texture over colorwork. But I am trying. So during a Ravelry search, I was inspired by the colors I found other Ravelers using on this pattern -namely Socks that Rock combining my Farmhouse with the spunky Watermelon. The mixture is gorgeous, but I couldn’t see myself wearing those bright stripes, so I chose a more muted pattern using Malabrigo’s Primavera – which by the way is utterly gorgeous. The subtle honey and sage hues throughout Primavera get a bit lost in this pattern. I very much want to buy another skein to use on a cable or lace shawl.

‘Tis a gorgeous and a fun pattern that becomes very easy to remember. It’s a fun knit but I cannot wait to be done with it so so I can brighten up these drab winter days with some rainbows for my neck!

However, if it gets sunny again before I am done knitting….well, I think I can handle it.

IMG_6056

Leave a Reply

